Having trouble joining the event?

You can directly access the Event support team zoom room.

Welcome Systems Changers…

Systems change friends! We invite you to a great Open Space online gathering. Here the themes, topics, and discussions that our wider community needs to have will emerge. As will the actions we choose to take.

The ideas, projects, questions and challenges concerned with systems change that you are working on contain the seeds of the discussions that will populate our agenda for the day. We will self-organise around the topics that matter to us.

Together we will grow new and fruitful connections. Ideas will propagate and cross-pollinate across our networks.

System changer, systems thinker, complexity navigator, network weaver, social acupuncturist? Whatever label you respond to, if you are in some way trying to understand and shift systems for the better, this Open Space is for you!

Who is this for?

If you feel any kind of affiliation to the idea of systems change, then this is for you. You may be a complete beginner, an interested academic, or a seasoned practitioner, if you have an interest in systems change, then you are who we are looking for, and we would be delighted to welcome you to the open space.

Register now

How does it work?

Open Space uses self-organisation to co-create an agenda for discussion that is of common interest to the assembled participants.

Open Space operates under four principles and one law. The four principles are:

1. Whoever comes are the right people.
2. Whatever happens is the only thing that could have happened.
3. When it starts is the right time.
4. When it’s over it’s over.

The Law is known as the Law of Mobility:

If you find yourself in a situation where you are not contributing or learning,
move somewhere where you can.

The four principles and the law work to create a powerful event motivated by the passion, and bounded by the responsibility, of the participants.

In the first hour after the welcome and introductions we will open the space for agenda creation. Here you are all invited to propose a session topic. We will ask you to add your session to an editable spreadsheet and then we will give you the ‘microphone’ and invite you to present your session topic in 30 seconds to the wider audience.

Once the agenda has been prepared we will split into various rooms to begin the discussions. 

At the end of the day we will all reconvene in the closing circle and share insights from the conversation that has been emerging throughout the day. 

Event Host



We help people to grow a continuous improvement capability in their organisations with the best CI software and coaching, we don’t want to do it for you.


Tanja Korvenmaa & Esko Reinikainen

Event Partners

Graphic Recording by:


The tickets for this event are ‘pay what you can’ with a minimum contribution of €10 to cover platform and event management costs. Current Systems Change Finland members can attend for free. If you pay €30 or over you will also receive a Systems Change Finland membership for 2021. Any surplus collected above the platform and event management costs will go to support the activities of Systems Change Finland.

You can read more about the Systems Change Finland membership here: https://www.systemschange.fi/membership/

Organisations that wish to support this event and gain greater visibility among the systems change community can purchase a sponsor ticket for €500. This entitles you to 10 participant spaces for people from your organisation or other nominated people, a dedicated room for the duration of the event, and your logo displayed on the website. We will contact you separately for the information on the ticket holders.

Any questions or comments?

Please send an email to our team at openspace@systemschange.fi and we will read them all and respond to those that need answers.

Where are participants coming from?

Countries represented so far: Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, UK

Participants from these organisations are attending: Aalto University, Actitude, Change Grow Live, ChemAxon, City of Espoo, Community Works, Cultivating Leadership, Cynefin Centre, Dooning Together, Elisa, Emergee, Emerging Field, Et May Oy, Fundacja Klaster LifeScience Krakow, IBM iX, InkDot, Innovate UK EDGE, Interbeing, Laurea University, Lucia Petroni Linguaggi dell’Anima, LUT School of Business, Mesopartner, Monik ry, MyData Global, Narrate, National University of Ireland Galway, nommoC seugolaiD, Open Data Manchester CIC, Oulu Startup Incubator Oy, Panda Training, Pertec consulting, Politics for Tomorrow, Public Service Transformation Academy, RedQuadrant, Same Drop, SCiO the systems practitioner organisation, SMART PAPER, Sonder Collective, Spend Network, Systemic Design Group, Systems Community of Inquiry, Systems Innovation, TCD, The Ready, Thurrock Council, Työväen Sivistysliitto TSL ry, UNDP, VVConsulting, We are Lean and Agile, Winchester University, World Economic Forum, Wunderman Thompson Finland

Who is coming…

Ady Coles, Aki Saariaho, Alexandra Stef, Alexandre Magno, André Santos, Andy Sandford, Anna Isabelle Ette, Antti Mäki, B Smith, Benjamin Taylor, Bowen Feng, Caroline Paulick-Thiel, Daniel Augustyn, Daniella Tsar, David King, Dora Hietavirta, Ed Parkes, Elina Järvelä, Elise Rehula, Esko Reinikainen, Eszter Kardos, Gemma Drake, Giulia Pratico, Hannah Härtwich, Heikki Ailinpieti, Helen Frost, Henry Zinglersen, Ian Makgill, Iina Santamäki, Julian Tait, Juliane Röll, Jussi Hölttä, Kazimierz Murzyn, Lauri Paloheimo, Leah Lockhart, Lina Hayek , Lisa Jeffery, Louise Mcculloch, Lucia Petroni, Magdalena Herrador Moreno, Marco Valente, Marcus Jenal, Mariana Mirabile, Marita Hänninen, Mark Heseltine, Mark Pryke, Matti Virtasalo, Michael Berger, Michaela Emch, Mohamed Adan, Nora Elstelä, Nour Elmir, Nour Sidawi, Pam Iannotti , Pasi Hario, Pia Adibe, Piia Säylä, Piritta Hannonen, Raffaella Carluccio, Robert Grout, Rose Alexandra Lichtenberg, Sanna Ketonen-Oksi, Sarah Owusu, Sebastian Siebzehnrübl, Simon Gough, Sinéad Mitchell, Tanja Korvenmaa, Teemu Ropponen, Tero Hokkanen, Thomas Perret, Timo Järvensivu, Veikko Välilä, Viivi Lahteenoja, Vladimir Kuparinen, Zeynep Falay von Flittner